August 18, 2019

Parish Council

Parish Council is a body that meets about 6 times yearly to share the responsibilities of maintaining a vibrant, functioning Cathedral.

Council consists of:

The Dean,  The Rev. Mary Irwin-Gibson
Dean’s Warden,  Frank Milne
People’s Warden,   Kevin Raison
Deputy Warden,  Ken Whatley

Other members are the current and alternate lay delegates to Synod, and 15 representatives from the congregation. Members are elected at the Annual Vestry Meeting.  Meetings are generally on  Mondays at 7:00 p.m. Meetings usually end by 9:00 p.m.

According to the Diocese of Ontario Canon 3 (see the diocesan website at for the full text),

Parish Council is to consult, advise and assist the churchwardens in the discharge of their duties, including the development of a budget for presentation at the Annual Vestry Meeting.  They also act for the Vestry between meetings in giving approval to all extra-budgetary items.

Regular reports are received from the incumbent, the churchwardens, Treasurer, and the Chairperson of the Fabric Committee on the condition of all the buildings and work/repairs underway or contemplated.

For more information about Parish Council, send an email to


Back to St. George's Cathedral Community